Are business meetings at the hairdresser the ultimate in multi-tasking?

5 Jul

The latest trend to hit high-flying City businesswomen is apparently the ‘power cut’: a trip to the hair salon that combines a haircut with a business meeting.

As reported in the Evening Standard, the power cut gives a whole new meaning to the working lunch. Senior businesswomen come in to the salon for their manicure or their blow dry, and continue their conference call – or brainstorm ideas with colleagues – while the stylists unobtrusively do their work. They do this for breakfast meetings as well as at lunchtimes and after work. One salon – Charles Worthington in Covent Garden – has even given this phenomenon a brand name: Executive Meet and Treat Service.

I’m all for multi-tasking; anything that ticks several things off my to-do list at once gets my vote. You can be there with your Blackberry racing through your emails, or catching up on those important calls – buying into that 24/7 culture of always being at the beck and call of your bosses and your business. Maybe the power cut is fine before an important meeting or presentation when I have to look my best – or perhaps for a novel way to catch up with a colleague.

However, there is a part of me that treats a visit to the hairdressers as a sacred space in my diary that’s just for me. Without the interruptions. Sometimes, it’s a relief to keep a little distance between work time and play time.

 

2 Responses to “Are business meetings at the hairdresser the ultimate in multi-tasking?”

  1. dressingmyself 05/07/2011 at 8:05 am #

    I agree with you. A trip to the hairdresser should be a little oasis of calm in a busy life!
    Also, there are only a few people that I would like to witness processes such as hair colouring. Leave me with some dignity, I say.

    • womaneer 05/07/2011 at 9:10 am #

      I totally agree. Having a manicure is one thing, but having my colour done in public is quite another!

Leave a Reply

