Hurrah for the women who won the Nobel Peace Prize

7 Oct

Huge headlines today because three women have won the Nobel Peace Prize. The award has been shared equally between Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”.

That’s news in itself – that women have been honoured rather than men – and for the first time in seven years. However, women have been awarded the prize 44 times between 1901 and 2011, which is many more times than I thought.

A statement from the Nobel Prize said: “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.” Hear, hear.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: